The on-arrival visa facility which was available for foreigners entering to Sri Lanka has been suspended by the government until further notice.

Please be further informed that, foreigners shall be encouraged to visit Sri Lanka only if there is any deemed necessity and visas should be obtained for such travels prior to the arrival via following means.

          i. Online (Through the ETA Website -

         ii. Respective Sri Lankan Missions

        iii. Head Office of the Department of Immigration & Emigration


Extension of Sri Lankan Visas to Foreign national currently in Sri Lanka


Passport holders of the following countries are exempted from ETA ON ARRIVAL Visa fee


Implementing free visa scheme for designated countries

Those who hold passports of listed countries and travel to Sri Lanka from immediate effect to 30.04.2020 for tourist purposes are exempted paying ETA fee, in view of enhancing tourist arrivals from designated countries.

However, any foreign national who will be visiting Sri Lanka for a short period is required to apply ETA and ensure pre approval before the journey to avoid unnecessary delays at the port of entry and adhere with enhanced pre clearance.

The list of countries is as follows.

28 countries under European Union and,

Australia , Cambodia, Canada, China, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Malaysia, New Zealand, Philippines, Russia, Singapore, South Korea, Switzerland, Thailand, Ukraine, United States of America, United Kingdom


ETA process fee has been revised and the new fee schedule will be effective from December 28, 2015 click here to see the ETA Process Fee.

With effect from 1st January 2012, all Holiday or Business travelers to Sri Lanka must have a valid Electronic Travel Authorization (ETA) to enter in to Sri Lanka. Please visit for more information.

The ETA requirement is applicable to all nationalities except nationals of the Republic of Maldives, the Republic of Singapore and the Republic of Seychelles, who on the basis of reciprocity, are exempt from this requirement.

The objective of the Sri Lankan visa is to facilitate the legal entry of non-Sri Lankans into Sri Lanka and to regulate the period and conditions governing their stay.

The competent authority for issuing Sri Lankan visas is the Department of Immigration and Emigration. On behalf of the Department of Immigration and Emigration, Sri Lanka diplomatic missions abroad have been authorized to issue visas.

What are the general eligibility requirements for Sri Lankan visas?

Sri Lanka Immigration and Emigration may issue a visa to you if:

  • it is satisfied that you are suitable to enter Sri Lanka.
  • it approves the purpose for which you are entering Sri Lanka.
  • you hold a passport valid for a minimum period of six months from the date you arrive in Sri Lanka.
  • it is satisfied that you have adequate funds for your stay in Sri Lanka and for the payment of your return passage to the country which issued your passport.
  • you are in possession of a return air ticket to the country of domicile or a visa to the next country of destination.

Who is eligible for visa exemption?

  • Sri Lankan dual citizens.
  • Children (up to 21 years of age) born outside Sri Lanka and having Sri Lankan birth certificate and Sri Lankan citizenship certificate (Section 5(2))
Visa categories 

(Please select the visa category)

  1. Tourist visa
  2. Business visa
  3. Transit visa
  4. Diplomatic and Official visa
  5. Journalist visa
  6. Residence visa

n.b. The validity of the passport must be at least six months beyond the date of entry into Sri Lanka.  


Financial Contributions to COVID19

Special Deposit Account CB

Online Portal6

Foreign Currency Remittances

PMD News1

Travel banned

Extension of visa US

ETA visa Status

Consular Service 1




Life Certificate2020

 EXPO 2020

emergancy contact

3025 Whitehaven Street NW
Washington DC 20008

Telephone Nos
(202) 483 4025 - 28
(202) 580 9546 (Emergencies/After hours)

Fax No
(202) 232 7181